Oron Towns And Villages

Oron is a seaside city and Local Government Area located in the Nigerian state of Akwa Ibom. The Maritime Academy of Nigeria and the Oron Museum are located there.

According to the 2006 census, it has an area of 70 km2 and a population of 156,461.

The area’s postal code is 523.

Below is the complete list Of Towns And Villages In Oron Local Government, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria:

Afaha Okpo District

  1. Esin Ufot
  2. Esuk Oro
  3. Eyo Ekung Inyang
  4. Eyo Obiosio
  5. Udung Esien
  6. Udung Ulo
  7. Udung Usotaiudung Ekung

Uya Oro District

  1. Eyo – Atta
  2. Eyo – Esu
  3. Eyo – Ifang
  4. Eyo – Odiong
  5. Eyo – Okpo
  6. Eyo – Uya
  7. Udung – Okwong
  8. Udung – Uwe

Eyo Abasi District

  1. Akai – Ikon
  2. Udung Ekung
  3. Udung Ekung II
  4. Udung Osin
  5. Udung Uko
  6. Udung Usotai
  7. Uko Okwong
  8. Uko Uyokim

Eyotong District

  1. Eyo – Esang – Obisung
  2. Eyo – Esio -Uwak
  3. Eyo – Okpo – Oyo
  4. Eyo – Orokra – Usuyak
  5. Eyo – Otong – Uwe
  6. Eyo – Oyete
  7. Udung – Obisung

Oron became a Division in 1970 and an LGA in 1976. In 1989, the federal government partitioned Oron into Mbo, Akwa Ibom, Oron, Akwa Ibom, and Okobo, Akwa Ibom. In September 1991, Urue-Offong/Oruko was separated from Oron. In 1996, Udung Uko LGA was separated from Oron.

Oron is in the tropics and always warm. The dry season is October to April, while the wet season is May to September. Two main winds deliver significant rains: south-west onshore winds and north-east trade winds across the Sahara Desert.

The region is rich in oil palms, tropical rainforest, marshes, and beaches. Mangroves supply wood and medicinal ingredients. Iron, free silica, glass sand, and gravel are also found. Crayfish, snipers, oysters, and periwinkle abound. Oron has oil and gas. It has offshore oil deposits and undeveloped natural gas.