Ede South Towns And Villages

Ede is a town in the southern Nigerian state of Osun. It is located along the Osun River, 180 kilometres (110 miles) southwest of Lagos, and at the convergence of highways from Oshogbo, Ogbomosho, and Ile-Ife.

Below is the complete list Of Towns And Villages In Ede South Local Government, Osun State, Nigeria:

Sekona District

  1.             Adekolu
  2.             Agboopa
  3.             Akoda
  4.             Awoo
  5.             Bara
  6.             Dauda
  7.             Denu
  8.             Elewure
  9.             Isale-Ofa
  10.             Kusi
  11.             Laogun Araromi
  12.             Laogun Isemi
  13.             Oloki
  14.             Sekona

Alajue District

  1.             Agbeinpa
  2.             Alajue
  3.             Aminiwon
  4.             Arola
  5.             Ededimeji
  6.             Idi-Oro
  7.             Idiagbon
  8.             Obanase
  9.             Ogbaagbaa
  10.             Olodan
  11.             Owode
  12.             Owojun
  13.             Popoola

Ede-South and Ede-North are municipal governments. Ede has 3 important higher institutions, making it one of the fastest-growing towns in the south-west. Federal Polytechnic Ede, Adeleke University, Redemeer’s University.

Ede is 60% Muslim. This may be linked to the 19th century during the reign of Timi Abibu Lagunju as monarch of Ede, who is most likely the first Muslim Oba in Yorubaland.

He was already on the throne when Baptist missionary W. H. Clark visited Ede in November 1857. (2-4) “This young disciple of the Prophet (Prophet Muhammad) recently become the governor of this town in place of his father (Oduniyi) and brings with him the influence of his new religion (Islam).”