Afikpo South Towns And Villages

Eddaland, administratively designated by Nigeria as Afikpo South, covers an entire local government area in Ebonyi State, Nigeria.

Below is the complete list Of Towns And Villages In Afikpo South Local Government, Ebonyi State, Nigeria:

Afikpo District

  1. Amachara
  2. Amachi
  3. Amaekwu
  4. Amaizu
  5. Amangbala
  6. Amangwu
  7. Amankwo
  8. Amaobolobo
  9. Amauro
  10. Amauzu
  11. Amuku
  12. Egeburu
  13. Enohia-Item
  14. Enohia-Ntalu
  15. Evuma
  16. Itim Villages
  17. Kpogirikpo
  18. Mgbom
  19. Ngodo
  20. Nkpogoro Villages
  21. Ohaisu Villages
  22. Ubam
  23. Ugwu-Egu-Villages
  24. Ugwuegu Elu

Igli District

  1. Agbogo
  2. Amaozara
  3. Ameta
  4. Amikpo
  5. Amorie
  6. Elu-Ogo
  7. Imoji
  8. Orra

Amasiri District

  1. Agbogo
  2. Agbop
  3. Akanto
  4. Ama-Inyima
  5. Amachara
  6. Amacharaji
  7. Amaegbu-Ezeke
  8. Amakuma-Ezeke
  9. Amaozara
  10. Amaozara-Ndukwe
  11. Amiy-Ndukwe
  12. Egboha-Amuro
  13. Elugo-Amakpu
  14. Eziama-Ndukwe
  15. Ihie-Agbo
  16. Ihie-Amorie
  17. Ihie-Elu



Edda towns’ names commonly finish in Edda to indicate membership in the Edda cultural common wealth and community of shared ideals. Before British colonialists divided Nigeria, each of Eddaland’s sovereign villages had a monarchy.

These 72 settlements functioned as a confederation of tiny city-states until 1867. Eddaland became part of the Southern Oil Protectorate, which subsequently became Southern Nigeria.

In 1914, Southern Nigeria and Northern Nigeria, a separate republic, merged to form Nigeria.

The historic city states of Eddaland still exist with kings who serve as social and cultural ambassadors of once-sovereign Eddish communities.

Eddaland was given the name Afikpo South after it was separated from Afikpo LGA in 1991. Successive politicians from the area have sought to maintain Eddaland in Nigeria’s constitution to reflect their heritage.

Due to a culture that emphasises inclusivity and integrity, Eddaland is peaceful and has little crime even today. Nigeria has few police stations/posts, although locals rarely call them.

Eddaland’s unspoiled natural setting of undulating hills, springs, and quiet tiny lakes and the calm and hospitable Edda people make it an excellent untouched rough diamond for tourism development.

Unlike the surrounding Nigerian tribal peoples and the greater Igbo ethnic group, the Edda do not consider themselves indigenous.

In Edda, citizenship means belonging to a community of shared beliefs and customs, regardless of ancestry. Eddalanders perceive non-permanent residents as guests and are exceedingly welcoming. Edda values integrity and commitment.

Local government is handled by an elected Chairman and ward councillors. First CEO was Sonni Ogbuoji.

Eddaland is bordered by Unwana, Akaeze, Amasiri, Afikpo, Ohafia, Nkporo, and Erei.

Its 2006 population was 157,072. Its area is 378 km2 (146 sq mi).

Two separate seasons: rainy and dry. The rainy season typically lasts from March until October. October to February is the dry season.

These two seasons depend on two prevailing winds: The North East trade wind or Dry Harmattan (also called The Tropical Continental) airmass, heavy with Sahara Desert dust, and the South West trade wind from the south Atlantic Ocean (also called The Tropical Maritime). 20°C to 38°C in dry season, 16°C to 28°C in the wet season.

The average yearly rainfall is 1750-2250mm. Parkland vegetation with stunted trees, bushes, and huge trees. Subsistence agriculture dominates the economy.

The postal code of the area is 490.