List of Towns, Cities and Villages in South Lanarkshire

South Lanarkshire, also written as Sooth Lanrikshire in Scots and Siorrachd Lannraig a Deas in Scottish Gaelic, is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary authorities.

Along the southeast border, it forms the Glasgow City council area.

It is made up of many rural towns and villages as well as some of Greater Glasgow’s suburban towns.

Some of the counties that it borders are East Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire, North Lanarkshire, the Scottish Borders, and West Lothian.

It includes most of Lanarkshire, which is an old county.

The area is very big and varied. It includes rural and upland areas, market towns like Lanark, Strathaven, and Carluke, and cities like Rutherglen, Cambuslang, and East Kilbride, which was Scotland’s first new town.


 • Total 322,630
 • Rank Ranked 5th
 • Density 470/sq mi (180/km2)

Here is a list of cities, towns, places, and villages in South Lanarkshire, Scotland:

  1. Abington
  2. Ashgill
  3. Auchengray
  4. Auchenheath
  5. Auldhouse
  6. Biggar
  7. Blackwood
  8. Bothwell
  9. Braehead
  10. Braidwood
  11. Carmichael
  12. Carnwath
  13. Carstairs
  14. Chapelton
  15. Cleghorn
  16. Coalburn
  17. Coulter
  18. Crawford
  19. Crawfordjohn
  20. Crossford
  21. Dalserf
  22. Dolphinton
  23. Douglas
  24. Douglas Water
  25. Elsrickle
  26. Elvanfoot
  27. Forth
  28. Glassford
  29. Glespin
  30. Kilncadzow
  31. Kirkfieldbank
  32. Kirkmuirhill
  33. Leadhills
  34. Lesmahagow
  35. Nerston
  36. Newbigging
  37. Pettinain
  38. Quarter
  39. Quothquan
  40. Rigside
  41. Roberton
  42. Rosebank
  43. Sandford
  44. Stonehouse

See places in other counties in Scotland below:

Scroll to Top