Northwest Arctic Borough

List of all cities and towns in Northwest Arctic Borough

Alaska is home to a borough called Northwest Arctic Borough. There were 7,793 residents as of the 2020 census, up from 7,523 in 2010.

Kotzebue is the administrative center of the borough. The official incorporation of the borough occurred on June 2, 1986.

The total area of the borough is 40,749 square miles (105,540 square kilometers), of which 35,573 square miles (92,130 square kilometers) is land and 5,176 square miles (13,410 square kilometers) (12.7%) is water, as reported by the United States Census Bureau.

It has a slightly bigger overall area than the state of Indiana, based on landmass alone.

Chukchi Sea is the limiting factor in the length of its coastline. Kotzebue Sound is one of the most notable bodies of water in the Northwest Arctic Borough and is home to a wide variety of animals.

A male polar bear weighing 2,209 pounds (1,003 kilograms) was spotted in Kotzebue Sound, making him the heaviest polar bear ever recorded.

Here is a list of cities, towns, and villages in Northwest Arctic Borough, Alaska:

  • Deering
  • Kiana
  • Kotzebue
  • Selawik
  • Shungnak

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You cannot copy content of this page

Scroll to Top