List of Towns, Villages and Cities in Middlesex County

Middlesex, also written as “Middx,” is a historic county in the southeast of England.

Its land is mostly in the ceremonial county of Greater London and mostly in the more urbanised area of London. There are a few small areas in nearby ceremonial counties.

The county is mostly surrounded by water on three sides.

The Thames runs through the south, the Lea runs through the east, and the Colne runs through the west. The northern border with Hertfordshire is made up of a line of hills.

The name of Middlesex county comes from its history as the Middle Saxon Province of the Anglo-Saxon Kingdom of Essex.

In the ninth or tenth century, part of that land was turned into Middlesex county, which stayed an administrative unit until 1965.

When it comes to historic English counties, this one is the second smallest, after Rutland.

In the 1200s, the City of London became a county corporate.

This gave it the power to govern itself and political control over the rest of Middlesex, as the Sheriff of London had power over that area, even though Middlesex was still a separate county.

The Tower Division, also known as Tower Hamlets, was to the east of the City. It had a lot of freedom and its own Lord Lieutenant.

Here is a list of cities, towns, places, and villages in Middlesex County, England:

  1. Harlington
  2. Hayes
  3. Shepperton
  4. Stanmore
  5. Sunbury-on-thames

See other counties in England below:

Scroll to Top