South Sinai Governorate

South Sinai Governorate (Arabic: محافظة جنوب سيناء Muḥāfaẓah Ganūb Sīnāʾ) is Egypt’s least populated governorate. It is located in the east of the country and includes the southern half of the Sinai Peninsula.

Saint Catherine’s Monastery, an Eastern Orthodox Church monastery and world-renowned UNESCO World Heritage Site, is located in the governorate’s center.


 (January 2023)
 • Total 115,611
 • Density 3.5/km2 (9.0/sq mi)

The governorate is divided into the following municipal divisions for administrative purposes with a total estimated population as of January 2023 of 115,611.

Municipal Divisions
Anglicized name Native name Arabic transliteration Population
(January 2023 Est.)
Abu Redis (incl. Abu Zenima) قسم أبو رديس Abū Radīs incl. Abū Zanīmah 12,535 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Dahab قسم دهب Dahab 3,156 Kism (urban and rural parts)
El Tor قسم الطور Aṭ-Ṭūr 45,449 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Nuweiba قسم نويبع Nuwaybi’a 7,713 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Ras Sedr قسم رأس سدر Ras Sidr 17,932 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Saint Catherine قسم سانت كاترين Sānt Kātirīn 4,863 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Sharm El Sheikh 1 قسم أول شرم الشيخ Sharm ash-Shaykh 1 13,616 Kism (fully urban)
Sharm El Sheikh 2 قسم ثان شرم الشيخ Sharm ash-Shaykh 2 1,445 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Taba قسم طابا Ṭābā 814 Kism (fully rural)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top