Suez Governorate

Suez Governorate, also known as Muḥāfāzah as-Suways in Arabic, is one of Egypt’s governorates. It is located in the country’s north-east and is coterminous with Suez City.

It is located north of the Gulf of Suez.

The governorate is divided into the following municipal divisions for administrative purposes, with a total estimated population as of January 2023 of 788,421.

Municipal Divisions
Anglicized name Native name Arabic transliteration Population
(July 2017 Est.)
Arbaeen قسم الأربعين Al-Arba’īn 287,620 Kism (fully urban)
Ganayen قسم الجناين Al-Janāyin 142,504 Kism (fully urban)
Suez قسم السويس As-Suways 88,356 Kism (fully urban)
Attaka قسم عتاقة Atāqah 75,698 Kism (fully urban)
Faisal قسم فيصل Fayṣal 194,243 Kism (fully urban)
Port Suez Police Department إدارة شرطة ميناء السويس Idārah Shurṭah Mīnā’ as-Suways Police-administrated Area

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top