Sohag Governorate

Sohag Governorate (Arabic: محافظة سوهاج) is one of Egypt’s governorates. It is located in the country’s south (Upper Egypt) and extends along the Nile Valley.

The city of Sohag has served as the capital since 1960. Previously, the capital city was Girga, and the governorate was known as Girga Governorate.

The governorate is divided into municipal divisions with a total estimated population as of January 2023 of 5,669,652.

In the case of Sohag governorate, there are two new cities, five agsam and twelve marakiz. In some instances there is a markaz and a kism with the same name.

Municipal Divisions
Anglicized name Native name Arabic transliteration Population
(July 2017 Est.)
Akhmim مركز أخميم Akhmīm 498,670 Markaz
El Balyana مركز البلينا Al-Balyanā 595,606 Markaz
El Kawthar قسم الكوثر Al-Kawthar 5,543 Kism (fully urban)
El Maragha مركز المراغة Al-Marāghah 447,222 Markaz
El Munsha مركز المنشأة Al-Munsha’āh 458,552 Markaz
Aserat مركز العسيرات Al-‘Usayrāt 195,927 Markaz
Dar El Salam مركز دار السلام Dar as-Salām 466,727 Markaz
Girga قسم جرجا Jirjā 146,756 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Girga مركز جرجا Jirjā 376,144 Markaz
Juhaynah West مركز جهينة الغربية Juhaynah al-Gharbiyah 309,544 Markaz
New Akhmim مدينة أخميم الجديدة Madīnat Akhmīm al-Jadīdah 0 New City
New Sohag مدينة سوهاج الجديدة Madīnat Sawhāj al-Jadīdah 200 New City
Saqultah مركز ساقلته Sāqultah 235,361 Markaz
Sohag مركز سوهاج Sawhāj 608,574 Markaz
Sohag 1 قسم اول سوهاج Sawhāj 1 150,616 Kism (fully urban)
Sohag 2 قسم ثان سوهاج Sawhāj 2 124,746 Kism (fully urban)
Tahta قسم طهطا Ṭahṭā 187,903 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Tahta مركز طهطا Ṭahṭā 327,950 Markaz
Tima مركز طما Ṭimā 486,899 Markaz

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top