North Sinai Governorate

North Sinai Governorate (Arabic: محافظة شمال سيناء Muḥāfẓet Shamāl Sīnāʾ) is a governorate in Egypt. It is located in the north-east of the country and includes the northern portion of the Sinai Peninsula.

It is bounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, South Sinai Governorate to the south, Port Said, Ismailia, and Suez Governorates to the west, and the Gaza Strip in Palestine (Rafah Governorate) and Israel (Southern District) to the east.

The capital is El Arish. A governorate is controlled by a governor chosen by Egypt’s President and serving at his or her discretion.


 (January 2023)
 • Total 504,201
 • Density 18/km2 (47/sq mi)

The governorate is divided into municipal divisions for administrative purposes with a total estimated population as of January 2023 of 504,201.

Municipal Divisions
Anglicized name Native name Arabic transliteration Population
(January 2023 Est.)
El Arish 1 قسم أول العريش Al-‘Arīsh 1 60,219 Kism (urban and rural parts)
El Arish 2 قسم ثان العريش Al-‘Arīsh 2 70,856 Kism (fully urban)
El Arish 3 قسم ثالث العريش Al-‘Arīsh 3 47,701 Kism (fully urban)
El Arish 4 قسم رابع العريش Al-‘Arīsh 4 29,343 Kism (urban and rural parts)
El Hassana قسم الحسنة Al-Ḥasanah 21,213 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Sheikh Zuweid قسم الشيخ زويد Ash-Shaykh Zuwayd 65,964 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Bir El Abd قسم بئر العبد B’īr al-‘Abd 60,827 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Nakhl قسم نخل Nakhl 6,662 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Rafah قسم رفح Rafaḥ 82,793 Kism (urban and rural parts)
Shurtet El Qasima قسم القسيمة Al-Qasīmah 13,331 Kism (fully rural)
Shurtet Rumana قسم رمانة Rumānah 45,292 Kism (fully rural)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top