Oyi Towns And Villages

Oyi is a Local Government Area within the Nigerian state of Anambra. It is inhabited by Oyi people.

Below is the complete list Of Towns And Villages In Oyi Local Government, Anambra State, Nigeria:

  • Nkwelle-Ezunaka
  • Awkuzu
  • Ogbunike
  • Umuneba
  • Umunya
  • Nteje

Oyi is in southeastern Nigeria’s Anambra State. Nkwelle-Ezunaka, Awkuzu, Ogbunike, Umunya, and Nteje form the local government.

The Civilian Administration of Chief Jim Ifeanyichukwu Nwobodo formed Oyi in the 1980s with Umunya as its headquarters and Ogbefi Jasper Nwobi as its first chairman.

It’s named after the Oyi River, which runs north into Omambala (Anambra River).

When the military sacked Alhaji Shehu Shagari’s civilian administration in 1983, Chief Jim Nwobodo was governor of Oyi and its constituent towns.

Later, under Col Nnameka Akonobi as Governor under Gen Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida, Enugu became a state, and the erstwhile Uzo-Uwani LGA towns of Omor, Omasi, Umueje, Umelum, Igbakwu, Umumbo, Anaku and Ifite Ogwari were amalgamated with their “Olu” brothers in Oyi.

Nteje became the headquarters and remained so after the towns were separated into Ayamelum LGA.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You cannot copy content of this page