The County of Sturt is one of South Australia’s 49 cadastral counties. It was named after early Australian explorer Charles Sturt by Governor George Grey in 1842.

It runs from the Bremer River and the eastern slopes of the Adelaide Hills at Nairne and Tungkillo in the east to the Murray River in the south, and from Point Sturt to Pomanda Island in the north.

This encompasses the west-of-the-river portions of the current Mid Murray Council and Murray Bridge City local government regions.

Sturt County, located in southern Australia, is a tribute to the region’s unique and compelling scenery.

This huge county is distinguished by its unique blend of natural wonders, historical significance, and agricultural competence.

Sturt County’s varied geography, which ranges from rolling hills to broad plains, is one of its distinguishing qualities.

The undulating landscape is a canvas painted with green, brown, and gold hues, providing a visual pleasure for both visitors and locals.

The varied environment unfolds like chapters in a book as one travels around the county, each page giving a different story of the land’s evolution.

Fertile agricultural grounds spread over the county, contributing greatly to the region’s economic growth.

Agriculture is the predominant industry in Sturt County, with farmers farming crops and raising cattle. The excellent soils and mild climate make it a great location for a variety of crops, including wheat and barley, as well as fruits and vegetables.

The agricultural practises in the region demonstrate a harmonic blend of old traditions and new technologies, demonstrating the local community’s adaptability.

Aside from its agricultural importance, Sturt County has a rich history that has left an unforgettable imprint on the terrain.

For thousands of years, indigenous groups have called this region home, leaving behind vestiges of their culture and traditions.

European exploration and settlement also affected the county’s history narrative, with vestiges of old homesteads and landmarks dotting the landscape.

Sturt County is more than just a museum of historical artefacts; it is a living tribute to its people’s tenacity and inventiveness.

The county’s towns and municipalities serve as hubs of local activity, with citizens cultivating a strong feeling of community spirit. Festivals and events bring people together, weaving a colourful tapestry of shared memories and customs.

Nature lovers will find peace in the county’s protected areas and reserves, which are home to different ecosystems.

These places not only provide habitat for local flora and wildlife, but they also provide recreational opportunities for individuals seeking a connection with nature.

Hiking paths, birdwatching places, and camping areas entice visitors to enjoy Sturt County’s natural splendour.

Finally, Sturt County serves as a microcosm of Southern Australia, capturing the essence of the region’s geography, history, and community spirit.

Sturt County offers a diverse experience that lingers in the hearts and minds of everyone who encounter its wonders, whether one is drawn to the sweeping vistas, agricultural bounty, or rich cultural tapestry.

It is a site where the past and present collide, telling a story about the Australian landscape’s ongoing beauty and resilience.

Here is a list of Hundreds in Sturt, South Australia:

  1. Hundred of Angas
  2. Hundred of Brinkley
  3. Hundred of Finniss
  4. Hundred of Freeling
  5. Hundred of Jutland
  6. Hundred of Kanmantoo
  7. Hundred of Mobilong
  8. Hundred of Monarto
  9. Hundred of Ridley
  10. Hundred of Tungkillo